View a full list of officers since 1933



Allen Dieterich-Ward, Shippensburg University (2017-2018)

Vice President

Beverly Tomek, University of Houston at Victoria (2017-2018)

Recording Secretary

Rachel A. Batch, Widener University (2018-2019)


Tina Hyduke, Penn State Federal (2018-2019)

Business Secretary

Karen Guenther, Mansfield University of Pennsylvania (2007-)

Past President

Michael Birkner, Gettysburg College (2017-2018)

Social Media and Web Editor

Sydney M. Van Leeuwen, Mercyhurst University (2018-2019)


Editor, Pennsylvania History: A Journal of Mid-Atlantic Studies

Linda Ries (2014-)

Co-Editors, Pennsylvania History Series

Allen Dieterich-Ward, Shippensburg University (2015-)
Beverly Tomek, University of Houston at Victoria (2015-)

Council Members

Class of 2018

Sarah Piccini, Lackawanna County Historical Society (*)
Curtis Miner, Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission (2)
Benjamin Scharff, Mercyhurst University (1)
Ed Slavishak, Susquehanna University (2)
David Witwer, Penn State - Harrisburg (2)

Class of 2019

Brian Alnutt, Northampton Community College (1)
Dan Barr, Robert Morris University (2)
Carla Mulford, Penn State University (1)
Leslie Patrick, Bucknell University (1)
Anne Verplanck, Penn State University, Harrisburg (1)

Class of 2020

Kenneth Heineman, Angelo State University (1)
Elizabeth Ricketts, Indiana University of Pennsylvania (2)
Kate Lukaszewicz, Sewickley Academy (1)
Silas Chamberlin, Downtown, Inc. (1)
Richard Burkert, Johnstown Area Heritage Association (2)

Institutional Representatives to Council

Rusty Baker, PA Museums
James Vaughan, Pennsylvania Historical & Museum Commission
  • * - Filling unexpired term
  • 1 - First three-year term
  • 2 - Second three-year term