Nominations are now open for the Pennsylvania Historical Association’s 2024 Klein Book Prize. 

The Philip S. Klein Book Prize is awarded for the best book on a topic that illuminates the history of Pennsylvania. A selection committee evaluates submissions for overall quality of scholarship, the significance of contribution to historical knowledge and methodology, and the work’s style, presentation, and readability. 

First awarded in 1996, the prize was established in honor of Philip S. Klein, president of the Association from 1954 to 1957, and is awarded every even-numbered year.  Notice of the award is distributed widely and carries a cash prize. 

For the 2024 award, peer-reviewed books with publication dates of 2022 and 2023 will be accepted. To be considered, please submit three (3) copies of the book, each containing a complete publication citation*, by May 15, 2024.  

*In addition to publication information normally found in the book itself (title, author, publisher), the committee needs the publication date because some publishers use a different copyright date than the actual date of publication. For the prize this year, the book should have an actual publication date of 2022 or 2023. 

Deadline May 15, 2024

Addresses of selection committee members:

  • Dr. Jeff Bloodworth,
    • Department of History,
    • 3218 Palumbo Hall
    • Gannon University
    • Erie, PA 16541
  • Dr. Beverly Tomek
    • 5926 Edgewood
    • Monroe, MI, 48161
  • Dr. William Bergmann
    • Department of History
    • Slippery Rock University
    • 1 Morrow Way
    • Slippery Rock, PA 16057