Nominations are now open for the Pennsylvania Historical Association‘s 2022 Klein Book Prize

The Philip S. Klein Book Prize is awarded for the best book on a topic that illuminates the history of Pennsylvania. A selection committee evaluates submissions for overall quality of scholarship, the significance of contribution to historical knowledge and methodology, and the work’s style, presentation, and readability.

First awarded in 1996, the prize was established in honor of Philip S. Klein, president of the Association from 1954 to 1957, and is awarded every even-numbered year.  Notice of the award is distributed widely and carries a cash prize. 

For the 2022 award, peer-reviewed books with publication dates of 2020 and 2021 will be accepted. To be considered, please submit three (3) copies of the book, each containing a complete publication citation*, by May 15, 2022. 

*In addition to publication information normally found in the book itself (title, author, publisher), the committee needs the publication date because some publishers use a different copyright date than the actual date of publication. For the prize this year, the book should have an actual publication date of 2020 or 2021.

Deadline May 15, 2022

Addresses of selection committee members:

Dr. Aaron Cowan
Department of History

303C Spotts
Slippery Rock University
Slippery Rock, PA 16057

Dr. John Davies

205 Media Parkway

Wallingford PA 19086

Dr. Anne Verplanck

1 Nine Gates Rd.

Chadds Ford PA 19317-9259