PENNSYLANIA HISTORICAL ASSOCIATION MINUTES OF THE MEMBERS MEETING— October 27, 2023

The 92nd annual members meeting was held at the Penn Harris Convention Center in Harrisburg. The meeting was called to order at 12:02 PM.

Past President David Witwer, standing in for President Ben Scharff, started with announcements. Witwer thanked the Local Arrangements Committee and Program Committee for a lively, stimulating meeting.

The main item of business was the candidate slate submitted by the Nominating Committee (chaired by Witwer). The following recommendations for Council members were considered:

Nominations for Council Class of 2026

Samuel Black, Senator John Heinz History Center (2nd term) Zachary Brodt, University of Pittsburgh (1st term) Mindy Crawford, Preservation Pennsylvania (1st term) Michael McCoy, SUNY Orange (2nd term) Andrew Simpson, Duquesne University (2nd term)

Paul Douglas Newman commended Sarah Piccini and Jake Wolff for adding the automatic monthly payment option to the membership/donation process. Newman challenged the assembled members to establish sustaining memberships.

Allen Dieterich-Ward introduced himself as Program Committee chair for the 2024 meeting in Johnstown. Dieterich-Ward noted that the call for papers would be out soon and that the theme for the 2024 meeting is "Identity and Politis in Pennsylvania History."

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 12:21 PM.