PENNSYLANIA HISTORICAL ASSOCIATION MINUTES, ANNUAL MEMBERS' MEETING—October 14, 2022

The 91st annual members meeting took place on October 14, 2022, at Lycoming College. The meeting was called to order at 12:10 PM. Vice President Ben Scharff, standing in for President David Witwer, thanked everyone who had contributed toward the success of the annual meeting.

The first item of business was the announcement of the Association's prize recipients for 2022:

- The Philip S. Klein Book Prize was awarded to Patrick Vitale of Eastern Connecticut State University, for *Nuclear Suburbs: Cold War Technoscience and the Pittsburgh Renaissance* (University of Minnesota Press, 2021).
- The Pencak Prize for Best Undergraduate Research was awarded to Jacqueline Wu of Carnegie Mellon University, for the paper "The Chinese Labor Experiment: Contract Workers in the Northeastern United States, 1870-1880." The nominating professor was Dr. Joe Trotter.
- The Irwin R. Marcus History Day Prize was awarded to Brontë Short of the Julia R. Masterman High School, for the paper "It Is a Terror ... That Men Should Be Handelled So in Pennsylvania": Early Quaker Reasoning, Debate, and the Abolitionist Influence of the Germantown Friends' Protest Against Slavery." The nominating teacher was Elizabeth Taylor.

Sarah Piccini presented the Business Secretary's report, focusing on plans to generate more individual membership renewals and new institutional memberships in the new year.

Tina Hyduke presented the Treasurer's report. The highlights were that income had exceeded expenses for the year and that rising interest rates would mean better yields on the organization's certificates of deposit.

The Nominating Committee, chaired by Rachel Batch, presented the following recommendations for Council members and officers:

Council Class of 2025

Julie Holcomb, *Baylor University* (1st term)

Paul Douglas Newman, University of Pittsburgh–Johnstown (2nd term)

Peter Miele, Seminary Ridge Museum and Education Center (1st term)

Jamie C. Noerpel, Milton Hershey School (1st term)

Barbara A. Zaborowski, Pennsylvania Highlands Community College (1st term)

Council Class of 2023

Michael McCoy, SUNY Orange (fulfilling an unexpired one-year term)

It was moved and seconded to advance the nominees to a vote, and members elected the slate.

Officers

President: Benjamin Scharff, Mercyhurst University (2023-2024)

Vice President: Jeanine Mazak-Kahne, *Indiana University of Pennsylvania* (2023-2024)

It was moved and seconded to advance the nominees to a vote, and members elected the officers.

Vice President Scharff updated the membership on several items:

- the launch of the 90 for 90 campaign
- the schedule of upcoming annual meetings:
 - o 2023, Harrisburg
 - o 2024, Johnstown
 - o 2025, York
 - o 2026, a "Revolutionary tie-in," possibly in southeastern Pennsylvania
- the graduate student gathering after the banquet.

With no further business, the members meeting adjourned at 12:26 PM.