PENNSYLANIA HISTORICAL ASSOCIATION MINUTES, ANNUAL MEMBERS' MEETING—October 15, 2021

The 90th annual members meeting took place on October 15, 2021, via Zoom. The meeting was called to order at 8:04 a.m. President Witwer thanked Jacob Wolff, Joe Heffley, and the Program Committee for organizing the annual meeting.

The first item of business was the announcement of the Association's prize recipients for 2021:

- The Philip S. Klein *Pennsylvania History* Prize was awarded to Jeff Bloodworth for the article, "The Local Is Global: Philadelphia's Weatherwomen Bring the War Home to Pennsylvania."
- The Robert G. Crist *Pennsylvania History* Prize was awarded to Tesa Lark Burns for the article, "Privilege and Silence in the Alice Marshall Women's History Collection."
- The Pencak Prize for Best Undergraduate Research was awarded to Lindsay Richwine, of Gettysburg College, for the paper, "Girl Talk: How Friendships between Moravian and Native Women Sustained the Moravian Mission at Shamokin, Pennsylvania, 1742–1749." Dr. Timothy Shannon nominated Richwine for the award.
- The Irwin R. Marcus History Day Prize was awarded to Alice Padula, of the Julia R. Masterman Laboratory and Demonstration School, for the paper, ""The World Was Thinking Wrong About Race": W.E.B. Du Bois' *The Philadelphia Negro*."

Piccini presented the business secretary's report, noting that the 2019 call for donations to the Association's prize funds had been successful. All prize fund balances were robust. However, membership was down to 217 members, a significant decline from pre-pandemic levels. Piccini encouraged members both to renew their own memberships and to encourage colleagues and students to join the Association.

The Nominating Committee, chaired by Rachel Batch, presented the following recommendations for Council members and officers:

Council Class of 2024

Adam BENTZ, York County History Center (2nd term)
Camille KASZUBOWSKI, University of Delaware (1st term)
Janet LINDMAN, Rowan University (1st term)
Laurie A. ROFINI, Independent scholar (2nd term)
Karol K. WEAVER, Susquehanna University (2nd term)

It was moved and seconded to advance the nominees to a vote, and members elected the slate.

Treasurer (2022-2023): Tina HYDUKE, Penn State Federal Credit Union Recording Secretary (2022-2023): Ed SLAVISHAK, Susquehanna University

It was moved and seconded to advance the nominees to a vote, and members elected the officers.

President Witwer updated the membership on several items:

- the schedule of upcoming annual meetings:
 - o 2022, Williamsport
 - o 2023, Harrisburg
 - o 2024, Johnstown
 - o 2025, York
- the timeline for the Scholars in Residence program (returning in summer 2023)
- the Marketing & Membership Committee's strategizing in the face of membership decline
- and the success of the *Pennsylvania History Series*, signaled by the recent publication of Beverly Tomek's *Slavery and Abolition in Pennsylvania*.

Discussion then centered on two topics. First, members discussed the format of future annual meetings. Executive Committee will plan for in-person meetings with virtual components, allowing more people to access programming and consider membership. Approaches to be studied include selecting one session per panel as a synchronous webinar and recording all sessions for asynchronous streaming. Second, members discussed hosting a panel of Scholars in Residence participants at the 2022 annual meeting, as a way of advertising the resumption of the program in 2023.

With no further business, the members meeting adjourned at 8:35 a.m.